Our Love Story

Last Saturday, June 29, Jeremy and I celebrated one year of marriage.  This coming August, we’ll also be celebrating four years together! Crazy how time flies.  In honor of our one year anniversary, I decided it was time for a sappy love story on this blog!

So here goes…

Jeremy and I met in high school, in ninth grade. through our church youth group.  Jeremy asked me out and I said no. Plain and simple…

Fast forward to three years later…

The summer before our senior year in high school, Jeremy and I were still in the same youth group and were placed on the same team for our high school mission trip.  Because of this, we started spending more time together preparing for the trip and I realized that I had feelings for him! Swallowing my pride of having turned him down years before, and at the counsel and advice of some very wise people (you know who you are!), I brought my feelings to Jeremy.  Jeremy took some time to think about it and we decided to get to know each other better.  A few weeks later on August 10, 2009, Jeremy asked me to be his!

On the mission trip in August 2009.

On the mission trip in August 2009.

September 2009, celebrating Jeremy's 18th birthday...we're so young!

September 2009, celebrating Jeremy’s 18th birthday…we’re so young!

Atsion Lake in New Jersey

Atsion Lake in New Jersey

Our first winter in love :)

Our first winter in love 🙂

NYC, December 2009

NYC, December 2009

Jeremy took me to Ocean City, New Jersey for Valentine’s Day in 2010.  It was on this trip he perfected the use of the timer on my camera, which would come in handy 2 years later when he proposed on that very same beach (see below.)

February 2010

February 2010

 Senior year of high school also meant that Jeremy was my prom date!  Such a fun night…and I always love saying that I eventually married my high school prom date! 🙂

Prom - May 2010

Prom – May 2010

And shortly after, we both graduated from two different high schools…

Jeremy's graduation

Jeremy’s graduation

I committed to attending Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan and a month before I left for school, Jeremy decided to follow me there. Grin.

38056_463750607845_6908137_n

We had a wonderful freshman year… and our relationship stayed strong 🙂

Here’s a pic of us after our freshman year in college, back home at our fave place – Ocean City, NJ

Ocean City, NJ - Summer 2011

Ocean City, NJ – Summer 2011

That Fall, Jeremy spent a semester going to school in NJ and we survived long distance.  After our semester apart, Jeremy proposed on December 31, 2011 in Ocean City, NJ and we rang in the new year as a newly engaged couple.

The Proposal.

The Proposal.

328177_10150699515812846_1099247428_o

Tears of joy

We were engaged for our Spring semester (together, back at Calvin College) and six short months later, we got married on June 29, 2012 – a very hot beautiful day.

June 29. 2012

June 29. 2012

183622_10151354924607846_1943719789_n

And here we are…after one year of marriage.  So blessed by this man that God has given me!

1017493_10152024063817846_274373172_n

Happy (belated) anniversary, Jeremy! Thank you for four years of amazing fun!

P.S. Those amazing wedding photos seen above were taken by a very talented photographer named Noah – check out his work here.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley Lynch-Harris
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 15:16:04

    Beautiful love story! My husband and I were high school sweethearts too! God bless you both, and congrats on your anniversary!

    Reply

  2. Patty
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 00:18:21

    SO sweet!!! Woot woot June brides…Jim and I got married June 22, 2012 and ours was a very hot day too!! Do you two live in Michigan now??

    Reply

    • Ellie
      Jul 16, 2013 @ 11:52:42

      Patty – our wedding day hit over 100 degrees! I’m a Jersey girl, and it was unexpected to say the least. It made for a memorable day though, I’m sure you can agree. and yes we are in Michigan now – are you??

      Reply

  3. Briana Graves
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 22:38:38

    I’m not even really sure how I ended up here but I sure am glad I did! This was by far the sweetest thing I’ve ever read! It’s a very beautiful story that God had played a part in from the moment you guys met. (: It’s so amazing to see how everything played out for you two as you both grew up building your faith together. You guys are an inspirational couple!

    Reply

  4. Gramma
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 19:22:26

    Hi, Ellie. What a beautiful blog. I just figured out how to find it (with a little help from K). You are a truly amazing young lady. So happy you are learning to cook! Hope someday you will love it as much as I do. Miss you and your wonderful husband, Jeremy. Take care. Love you Gramma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

