…and this year!

4th of July this year was an absolute blast…and a total success! It couldn’t have been more different from last year, but it was wonderful all the same!  Last year we were on our honeymoon, just beginning married life together, and this year, we’ve just celebrated our 1st anniversary and we are spending our first summer in Grand Rapids.

We spent the morning doing some housework and cleaning (so fun, I know) but not of course until after sleeping in. Grin.

Then I attempted my first official recipe…I always have loved to bake and have perfected brownies, muffins, and even cheesecake, but I’ve never actually made a real meal.  After being married for over a year, I thought it was time I start feeding my husband. Ha. (For those of you who are worried about his well-being, I assure you, he eats plenty.) 🙂

Inspired by one of my summer resolutions, I attempted an easy and inexpensive first recipe.  I found this crock-pot sloppy joe recipe awhile ago on Pinterest, and was saving it for a day like yesterday.  It was super easy (only 3 ingredients – 4 if you count water as an ingredient) and once I got all of the ingredients in the crock-pot  I cooked it on high for 3 hours.  And that was it.  So does it really count as my first real recipe if it was that easy? I sure hope so, because I felt proud about handling raw meat!

Success with the crock pot sloppy joes.

Success with the crock pot sloppy joes.

1011859_10152053300152846_703772378_n

1004003_10152053300757846_1251586499_n

Jeremy was very excited and seemed to really enjoy the sandwiches.  I didn’t get fancy enough to make sides to go with them, but I’m taking this cooking thing one step at a time.

After dinner, we headed over to our friend’s house to claim our front-row seats to the fireworks in East Grand Rapids.

Family :)

Family 🙂

Roomies :)

Roomies 🙂

Love of my life.

Love of my life.

Our regal-looking, 4th of July-celebrating chihuahua :)

Our regal-looking, 4th of July-celebrating chihuahua 🙂

Optimus and I were slightly afraid of the fireworks being shot off by the neighbors, but we survived and saw some beautiful fireworks!

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

So our first 4th of July spent in Grand Rapids was a success and we had a total blast.  Love the community that we’re a part of.  So where will we be this time next year? Your guess is as good as ours! We’re trusting God to lead us in the way He would have us go.  I guess my next year’s 4th of July blog post will reveal where that is!

Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

