Old Self vs. New Self

“You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” – Ephesians 4:22-24
 

This scripture rocked me to the core this morning.  I needed it this morning. Not two mornings ago when it had been emailed to me on Saturday. (I’m subscribed to a great blog called The Heartbeat of the Home and the scripture came from this lovely posting.) But this morning, when I finally got around to going through my email.  God has impeccable timing like that.

I don’t have many words for this scripture…it speaks for itself.  I do have lots of feelings and thoughts, though, which I’ll try to express briefly.  Since accepting Christ as my Savior, one of my continuing struggles has been walking the line between my “old self” and my “new self.”  I’m realizing more and more that accepting Christ as my Savior may be a one time thing that I did in ninth grade, but choosing to “be made new in the attitude of my mind” is a daily choice that I must make.  My “new self” is “created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness” but I must daily pray that God would give me the strength to “put off my old self.”  No, I can’t do it alone, but it is my choice to make.  And each morning, whether consciously or not, I am choosing the person I am going to be that day – I am choosing to be my “old self” or my “new self.”

I know I can’t be alone in this struggle, so I’m expressing what I’m able to in hopes that someone out there can resonate with my struggle.  My hope and prayer for myself, and for you reading this, is that we would daily pray for God to help us put on our new selves, and that we would have the courage to ask for prayer in community when we are struggling with putting off our old selves.  It’s hard to be honest with our struggles, but God has gifted us as Christians with community to do just that – to be honest in communication about our joys, pains, praises, laughs, and yes, even our struggles.

Father God, I pray thanks to you for opening my heart and my mind with this scripture this morning.  Thank you for fellow bloggers whose postings have spoken to my soul.  Lord, I pray that today, and everyday, you would help me to put on my “new self” in you, the self that was “created to be like You in true righteousness and holiness.”  In Jesus’ name, amen.
 

Today I’m linking up to…

GraceLaced Mondays
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bomi
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 10:43:44

    Amen, Amen, & Amen. Thanks for sharing:)!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Grateful. | Choosing Peace
  3. Joan Smith
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 12:10:48

    Our old self was already crucified with Christ.The old self died to sin.We shouldn’t have such a struggle with this,but I do too.Renewing the mind and receiving a change from fromGod through His presence.Doesnt come easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

