Where I Belong

Today in my “Human Behavior and the Social Environment” class we finished watching a documentary called “A Lion in the House.”  You can

read more about the film here: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0492472/.  This documentary follows the lives of five different families who each have a family member struggling with cancer, but in my class we only watched Alex’s story.  Alex began battling leukemia around 5 years old and struggled with this monstrous disease until she passed away at 8 years old.

It didn’t help that Alex had the biggest personality and most beautiful heart… but regardless of who she was as a child, my heart broke for the fact that she was only a child.  I’m not justifying disease and pain and death in adults, but as we watched this film, inside my head I was screaming out to God, “This isn’t right. This isn’t fair. She was only a child.  Why God, just why?”

Last night I was driving in the car and the song “Where I Belong” by Building 429 came on the radio.  Through the pain and grief and injustice of this world I take such comfort knowing that this isn’t home.  This wasn’t what God intended.  When children like Alex die at age 8 from leukemia, God mourns with her family.  This isn’t the world we were made for.

“Sometimes it feels like I’m watching from the outside.
Sometimes it feels like I’m breathing but am I alive?
I won’t keep searching for answers that aren’t here to find.All I know is I’m not home yet.
This is not where I belong.
Take this world and give me Jesus.
This is not where I belong.So when the walls come falling down on me,
And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea
I have this blessed assurance holding me.All I know is I’m not home yet.
This is not where I belong.
Take this world and give me Jesus.
This is not where I belong.When the earth shakes I wanna be found in You.
When the lights fade I wanna be found in You.

All I know is I’m not home yet.
This is not where I belong.
Take this world and give me Jesus.
This is not where I belong.”

Leave a Reply

