a honeymoon moment

There’s quite a bit on my mind and on my heart right now and lots of possibilities ahead…not to mention the piles of homework and hours of studying that await me – but I can’t stop thinking about something so here I am writing about it.

I keep thinking about my favorite moment on our honeymoon – don’t worry – this is completely G-rated!  🙂  I obviously know that I married an awesome and Godly man…(I mean, I did marry him for a reason!), but on our honeymoon there was this really cool moment that I think God allowed me to witness to affirm my marriage to a pretty great guy.

During our honeymoon, Jeremy and I would go for regular evening walks on the Atlantic City boardwalk.  One particular night, we stopped at a stand to buy some fried Oreos – one of our favorite boardwalk specialties.  I sat down at a table while Jer went up to order for us.  I could see Jer in line from where I was sitting and so I saw when a man walked up to Jeremy while he was waiting in line.  The man would appear to be what I would describe as poor, dirty, and possibly homeless (the social worker in me tries to be careful about what I assume about people without knowing!)  The man went up and talked to Jeremy for a little bit, but I was out of hearing distance and didn’t know what he was saying.  Jer got to our table a few minutes later with our plate of fried Oreos.  Jeremy said that the man had asked him for some money so he could buy an ice cream cone.  Jeremy only had a $20 bill and told the man he was sorry.  Of course, Jeremy knew I would get really upset that we hadn’t helped the man in some way…especially when I looked up and saw the man relentlessly going up to several people asking for money.  At this point, I honestly didn’t even want my deep fried Oreos.  Jer got up and said he would be back.  He walked up to the man and said something, then the two walked back to the line together.  Here comes the best part.  My husband bought this man a slice of pizza, a water bottle, and his much desired vanilla ice cream cone.  Jer waited in line with the man to make sure the server got the man his food.  And the cherry on top: Jeremy didn’t do this to get praised for it and he certainly didn’t do it just to make me happy (not that that would be wrong!)  This is Jeremy and it was the perfect moment on a beautiful night.  I never felt more love for Jeremy and more loved by his selfless act for another than in that moment.  It was awesome.  And I totally felt God’s peace.

I love to think about how much just the vanilla ice cream cone alone meant to that man.  If he could have one thing from the boardwalk, he wanted ice cream.  I’ve thought about if I was living in poverty, what I wouldn’t do for a luxury cup of coffee.  If this man lives day to day, an ice cream cone was his biggest blessing I’m sure.  God bless my sweet husband for adding on a pizza slice and bottle of water.

Later on that evening, Jeremy joked that being married to a soon-to-be social worker was rubbing off on him, but I know that’s not why he did it.  Jeremy has that heart all on his own.

Sorry to endlessly brag on my husband, but I’m just so grateful for him and his heart and I love giving God the glory for blessing me with such a wonderful guy.

Our two week honeymoon was made up of so many awesome moments, but I know this is one that will stick in my mind for a lifetime.

Happy Wednesday!

Jeremy and me on the boardwalk

Our deep fried Oreos – Yum!

The blessing of a simple vanilla ice cream cone

Leave a Reply

