summer reflections

So I meant to do this post last week, before school began but time got away from me!  School came up so fast – I have no idea where this summer went!  

This past summer was one of my most random, craziest summers of my life.  I’ve been trying to process events as they’ve come along but here are my written words, as another (but definitely not final) attempt to process my summer!

I got home from college at the end of May and then wedding planning kicked in full force.  I had my wedding shower in the beginning of June (shout out to mom and Kaleigh who gave me the most wonderful shower!)  The entire month of June was a whirlwind – and frankly I don’t really remember much of it!  Wedding week is pretty memorable – my best friend and bridesmaid Kelsey flew in from Nebraska and so my time spent with her was so special and such a blessing.  Wedding week also included hair and nail appointments, a marvelous bachelorette party, (compliments of Kelsey and her mom) and our rehearsal and rehearsal dinner.

On June 29 I married my best friend!  It was a surreal experience and such an amazing day.  It was incredible to be surrounded by family, friends, and our church community who love and support us as we committed the rest of our lives to one another.

Following the wedding was our 2 week honeymoon in Atlantic City, which was an amazing wedding gift and such a blessing as we began our marriage as newlywed, poor, college students 🙂  We lived in New Jersey for 2 weeks following the honeymoon and then it was the big move out to Michigan – to our new apartment and the official beginning of our life together!  

The past month Jeremy and I have been slowly moving in, unpacking, and making our new apartment home.  We also have a puppy named Optimus Prime who we adopted back in May and recently added a kitty named Sanford to our family.  To say our apartment is a little chaotic at times is an understatement but I wouldn’t change it for the world!

As far as the amazing journey called marriage – I’ll save that for another post!  Marriage, when done God’s way, can be hard but it is also so right and good.  Stay tuned for more on that later 😉

For now, I’ll leave you with some pictures! 

Image

My bridesmaids and me at my bachelorette party

Image

Our rehearsal – with VBS decorations in the background 🙂

Image

Getting married!

Image

We had a beautiful reception in Jeremy’s parents backyard

Image

Our honeymoon in Atlantic City

Image

Our little Optimus Prime

Have a good weekend everybody!

Leave a Reply

