love me some family time

This weekend was so wonderful.  My mom and sister were complete angels and drove a moving truck 14 HOURS from New Jersey to Michigan full of all our stuff and then helped us move it all in!!!!  They were incredible and I don’t know what I’d do without them.  

When they got here Friday night, we unpacked a few things, then visited for awhile and ate brownies (I made gluten-free ones!)  It had only been 2 weeks since I saw them but it felt like more than that.

Saturday, we rose pretty early and began the process of unloading the truck.  Surprisingly, it only took us about 2 hours.  The real challenge was arranging furniture inside our apartment and finding places for everything! (That’s still a work in progress.)  While this chaos was all taking place, little Optimus Prime spent the day at Petsmart Doggy Day Care – apparently he was the little star of that place, which is not hard to believe.

Saturday night, my mom, sister, and I went to see “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” at the cheap theater (yay for $4 movies!)  It was pretty funny but totally confirmed that it will be many, many, MANY years before my husband and I begin the adventure that is having children! …Sorry to disappoint all of you who thought otherwise 😉

Sunday morning, we played hooky from church and just enjoyed a lazy morning – we were all exhausted from the moving festivities on Saturday!  It was nice to just chill out (on real furniture!) and spend time with my husband and my family.  We finally got out of the house for a late lunch at Wolfgang’s (yum) and did a trip to Meijer (a must when anyone from NJ visits us out here.)

Monday, we visited campus for a while and picked up some of my stuff that was stored in the dorm (and by some, I mean a ton.)  We had lunch at Marie Catrib’s – mom and Kaleigh loved it, as we expected!  Then it was off to Detroit to bring them to the airport 😦  We were sad to see them go, but we had an amazing weekend – even if it was too short!

Today, it’s back to work and normal schedules.  Looking forward to how God reveals Himself to me this week.  Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

