Kneeling at the Throne of Grace

“Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may find mercy and grace in time of need” – Hebrews 4:16

I stumbled upon this verse this morning, and boy, did I need it!  I love how God uses His own word to constantly provide encouragement in my daily life, no matter what I’m going through.  There’s appropriate scripture for when I’m having a rough day, or for when life is going great, or for when I question and doubt, or for when I praise and worship.  We are so blessed that God understands our hearts and knows what we need.

So, back to the point… I need the Lord’s mercy and grace. Every. Single. Day.  But especially today.  When life is overwhelming and chaotic and stressful, turning my face to God is rarely my initial response.  My instinct is to hide from Him, as if not having it together won’t cut it.  But that doesn’t line up with who our God is.  Our God wants us to come boldly to the throne of grace when we are in need.  To acknowledge that we need grace is a blessing.  When we acknowledge our need, we are able to come boldly to God’s throne, where we will find His everlasting mercy and grace.  Amen anyone?

When I’m crabby or feeling lazy, God doesn’t want me to hide my imperfection from Him.  Rather, in these tough moments of life, I should be running to His throne to seek His constant mercy and grace.  Because I am in need.

So today, my challenge to myself, and to you, is to kneel at His throne, even when it’s the last thing you want to do…because that’s when we need it most.

Leave a Reply

